Rocci Stucci Media

14 House Democrats Vote To Denounce Biden Admin’s ‘Open-Borders Policies’

The House passed a resolution that condemns Joe Biden’s open border policy. Surprisingly fourteen Democrats voted for the resolution. Twelve Democrats did not vote at all and nine Republicans did likewise. So, now ask yourselves why fourteen Democrats crossed over and voted for the resolution offered by Rep. Nathaniel Moran (R-TX). I believe at least a few of them were scared to vote against the resolution because Joe Biden is poison ivy on steroids.

In addition to denouncing the policies, the resolution condemned the:

“national security and public safety crisis along the southwest border” and urged President Joe Biden to “end his administration’s open-borders policies.”

Among the 14 who broke ranks was Rep. Colin Allred (D-TX), a former Tennessee Titans linebacker and Obama administration official who is taking on Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX) in the 2024 election. The others were Reps. Yadira Caraveo (D-CO), Angie Craig (D-MN), Henry Cuellar (D-TX), Donald Davis (D-NC), Jared Golden (D-ME), Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX), Greg Landsman (D-OH), Susie Lee (D-NV), Jared Moskowitz (D-FL), Wiley Nickel (D-NC), Mary Peltola (D-AK), Marie Gluesenkamp Perez (D-WA), and Eric Sorensen (D-IL).

Golden said in a statement:

“Most of us understand that nations need borders, those borders should be secured, and we should enforce the immigration laws on the books. Most of us also understand that those seeking entry to our country deserve an orderly and predictable immigration process. Right now we have problems on both fronts.

“Illegal immigration threatens our national security and undermines American jobs,” he added. “It’s time for Congress and the Biden administration to come together and pass legislation to meaningfully address issues at the border. It should be a top priority in Washington, just like it is in most of America.”

From The Daily Wire

In addition to denouncing the policies, the resolution condemned the “national security and public safety crisis along the southwest border” and urged President Joe Biden to “end his administration’s open-borders policies.”

“I told President Biden: it’s on you,” House Speaker Mike Johnson (R-LA) said in a post to X. “Your policies created the border crisis. Your executive action can end it. House Republicans will continue to demand transformative policy change and hold this administration accountable until the border is secure.”


On January 11, Rep. Nathaniel Moran (R-Texas) introduced H. Res. 957—”Denouncing the Biden administration’s open-borders policies, condemning the national security and public safety crisis along the southwest border, and urging President Biden to end his administration’s open-borders policies”. That non-binding resolution isn’t exceptional, but what is out of the ordinary is that on the evening of January 17, 14 House Democrats voted with 211 of their GOP colleagues to pass it. There are cracks in the Democratic caucus over border policies that are increasingly unpopular with Americans, but will those cracks remain when the vote matters, over issues like impeaching DHS Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas, or for real border reforms? We may soon see.

Bills and Resolutions. For those unfamiliar with the ways of Capitol Hill, here’s a quick primer.

There are basically four types of legislation one or both houses can consider: bills, which can become federal law if passed by both chambers and signed by the president; joint resolutions, which are considered by both the House and the Senate (usually for appropriations purposes), and which are all-but identical to bills; concurrent resolutions, which must be passed by both chambers but don’t require the president’s signature, used to amend rules that bind the Congress as a whole or to express specific sentiments; and simple resolutions, which only require passage by one chamber, usually to amend its rules or express the sentiments of a majority in that chamber.




One Response

  • Decide Right

  • On Key

    Related Posts